• Archery
  • Arts & Crafts
  • Baby Classes
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Coding
  • Cooking
  • Cricket
  • Dance
  • Dirt Bike
  • Diving
  • Drama
  • Entertainment
  • Fencing
  • Fitness
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gym
  • Gymnastics
  • Hockey
  • Horse Riding
  • Language
  • Martial Arts
  • Motorcycle
  • Music
  • Netball
  • Parental Education
  • Performing Arts
  • Public Speaking
  • Rugby
  • School Holidays
  • Science & Technology
  • Scouting
  • Sewing
  • Singing & Choir
  • Skating
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Sports
  • Squash
  • Surfing
  • Swimming
  • T-Ball
  • Table Tennis
  • Tennis
  • Tuitions
  • Yoga
  • zdraft

Blue Mountains Football Club History 1965 – Present
The Blue Mountains Soccer Club (BMSC) was formed in 1965. The 1st Annual General Meeting was held 12 November 1965.

In 1966 the club had 4 teams playing in the Nepean Competition – Under 8, Under 13, Under 15 and All Age team. All games were being played on Glenbrook Oval, which the club shared with Glenbrook Baptist Soccer Club. By 1968 the club had 12 teams. During this time consideration was given to merging with the Baptist Soccer Club and to change the name of the club so as to include more sports.

It was proposed in 1970 that the BMSC become a Limited Liability Company with seven directors in order for the club to progress. This proposal was passed at a Special General Meeting held on 13 July 1970 with club becoming Blue Mountains Soccer Club Ltd on 24 November 1970. The first Annual General Meeting of BMSC Ltd was held 29 September 1971.

During 1971 negotiations for the lease of Knapsack Park commenced with the Blue Mountains City Council (BMCC). On 15 February 1974 the lease for Knapsack Park was signed for 20 years.

The Robbie Madden Trophy was first presented for the highest placed, highest age competition winner in 1972.

In 1974 the Ladies Auxiliary was formed to assist with fund raising and the running of the canteen. The Auxiliary ran until 1995 when it ceased due to lack of support.

The tractor was purchased in 1974 for $500 and sold for $500 in 2003.

In 1976 John Costello died and the John Costello trophy was first presented in 1984 for the Most Improved Team.

The first earthworks for Knapsack Park were started in 1976. Work continued on the fields until they were finished in 1983 when all teams used Knapsack Park as their home ground. The fields were completed by BMSC with the assistance and financial help from the Dept of Sport and Recreation, BMCC and contractors, including J K Williams. The fields included the playing pitches, an irrigation system and lights.

In 1979 the old club house at Leonay Country Club was moved to Knapsack Park to become the BMSC club house at a cost $6,000.

By 1979 the club had grown to 20 teams plus one ladies team. In 1980 the Most Improved and Dedication Trophies were presented, along with the Robbie Madden Trophy.

Tony Millington died in 1982. Tony was one of the clubs longest serving directors, being on the Board for 12 years from 1970 to 1981. The Tony Millington Shield for the Battlers Award was first presented in 1983.

In 1983 the amenities block was constructed at a cost of $1000. In 1985 cricket was first played at Knapsack Park.

In 1986 the Club Person Award was introduced. The first recipient was Ian Wykes.

Construction of the Mini Fields began in 1990 and was completed for 1991 season with a grant of $2,100 from the Dept of Sport and Recreation and Club funding the rest of the cost.

In 1991 the Club received a $9,000 grant from BMCC to upgrade the fencing around the fields.

Also in 1991 the 10 years Awards were instigated.

By 1992 the Club had 30 teams, 26 Junior teams and 4 Senior teams, with 366 players.

In 1993 negotiations on renewal of the lease of Knapsack Park began with BMCC.

In 1997 the U15.1 team, having won their competition, were invited to play in the South Pacific Junior Soccer Championships in Fiji. In 1998 the U16.1 team, again winning their competition, went to Vanuatu to play in the South Pacific Soccer Challenge.

In 1998 the field lights were upgraded at a cost of $12,500. The Club paid for half the cost, with the rest of the money coming from a Dept of Sport and Rec grant.

In 2000 the club had 382 players in 28 teams. This had grown to 421 players in 31 teams, including 51 female players in 3 teams, in 2001.

On 10 September 2000 the 30th BMSC Ltd AGM was held.

At an Extraordinary Meeting held on 9 August 2001 a resolution was passed to register the club under the NSW Associations Incorporation Act, and adopt the Model Rules for Incorporated Associations (with changes), according to the Associations Incorporation Regulation. A copy of the rules is available on the Clubs web site. The name of the Club was changed to Blue Mountains Soccer Club Inc.

In 2002 the Club’s first twenty year award was presented to Michael Currey.

After 10 years of negotiations with the BMCC the Club decided in 2003 to no longer pursue a lease for the use of Knapsack Park. The Club came to an agreement with the Council for them to take over the maintenance of the fields and the Club to “booked” the fields during the soccer season. This resulted in the freeing up of considerable funds, which can be put back into the purchasing of additional equipment for players and teams. It also meant that the Council will be funding the upgrading of the fields and car parking which the Club was unlikely ever to have raised enough funds to complete.

In 2003 the U21 team won their knock out competition to win the right to represent Nepean Association in the Champion of Champions competition. The team made it through to the final where they lost 0-4.

2004 saw the return to a single Premier League 1st Div team. The combined team finished Competition and Top 4 Runner Up’s. Strict water restrictions were enforce across Sydney for the full season hampering field maintenance.

The BMSC Premier League 1st Division team won the Nepean District 2007 tittle and went on to the Champion of Champions to be knocked out by the eventual winner.

The Club adopted a new constitution at the 2009 AGM and changed the name of the Club to Blue Mountains Football Club

Listed In Categories

Write a review

Your Rating

Your review recommended to be at least 140 characters long :)